Earth day hummus

Hummus is my lifeblood. I’m convinced that my body wouldn’t function properly if I didn’t get my weekly fill of the good stuff. There’s no wrong time, place, or way to eat hummus. It’s good in the morning or at midnight, at home or work, in a salad or on toast. It’s especially good eaten straight out of the container with a mini wooden spoon, or so I’ve heard.
Despite my love affair with the dip/spread/condiment/vital life force, I haven’t had much luck with it in my own kitchen.

This recipe changed my mind about homemade hummus. Probably not coincidentally, it was the first time I’d used my Blentec to make it, as opposed to a low-powered food processor.

Sundried Tomato Hummus
– 1 + 1/2 cups PEELED chickpeas
– 1/3 cup water
– 1/4 cup tahini
– 2 tbsp nutritional yeast
– juice of 1/2 lemon
– 2 cloves garlic
– 10 sundried tomatoes, chopped
– salt to taste

1. Grind chickpeas in a high-powered blender or food processor
2. Add all other ingredients and blend until smooth, adding additional water to reach desired consistency

Because I made this on Earth Day, it seemed appropriate to jar it up in the repurposed chickpea container.

And if you peel your chickpeas (please, please do), you’ll be left with a cupful of these:

I’m all about supporting our beautiful Earth by not wasting anything (especially food!), so these little skins went to good use in my dinner last night, but that’s a story for another day.

Leave a Reply

