What I Ate Wednesday

Breakfast included a coconut flour muffin made with flax meal instead of eggs, eaten alongside bowl of frozen grapes + coffee and almond milk.

For lunch I heated some local pesto tofu (!!!) in a pan and served it up with hearts of palm and carrots, which I ate with homemade hummus.
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
This tofu is RIDICULOUS. It’s not like any other prepared tofu I’ve ever found.

Okay, so it looks kind of moldy and weird now that I think about it, but I wanted to show how the pesto is marbled throughout the tofu; I assume they mix it in before pressing it into a block. Now I want to try and make my own, since it’s also really hard to find. Whole Foods carries a couple of this local brand’s products, but not the pesto kind. Tofu Yu doesn’t even list it as one of their products on their website! What? I’ve been able to track it down twice, once at the student food collective and, this time, at a tiny produce market in the gourmet ghetto.

For dinner, I felt the urge to make some kale chips after spending 7 dollars on a bag of local ones at Whole Foods. I’ve made them before, but I was going for a flavor that replicates the type you can buy rather than just the crunchy leafyness that comes from simple olive oil + salt. They were a delicious success. A large bunch of organic kale cost me 1.99 and could make more chips than come in one of the small 7 dollar packages. Homemade FTW. I’m on a big homemade stint lately and I’m loving it. It’s cheaper, more fun, and more satisfying to make things at home than to shell out money on prepared foods.

Kale Chips
– 4 large leaves lacinato kale, deveined and torn up
– 1 T hummus
– 1 T nutritional yeast
– 1/2 T water

Combine hummus + nutritional yeast + water and toss leaves in the mixture until evenly coated.
Spread out on a sheet pan and bake at 300 degrees for 15-20 minutes (or until crispy), tossing once.

Later, I had some of this Cafe Gratitude raw nut milk “ice cream,” another local product from Whole Foods.
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
YUM!

Do you have a favorite local product? Or is there a product you can never seem to track down?

One thought on “What I Ate Wednesday

Leave a Reply

