Vegan Care Package

One of my best friends, Angel(l)a, goes to school up north, about an hour and a half away.  We went to high school together but rarely get to see each other now that life is so busy :(.  A month ago, my lovely friend ventured down to Berkeley/Oakland so that we could go to a Fleet Foxes show together.  The concert was nothing short of amazing, but even more wonderful was getting to see her again and bringing her to my foodie Mecca, where we wandered, ogled delicious foods, and spent a good 25 minutes trying to decide what to buy from the deli for lunch.  We spent less than 24 hours together, but I think I managed to talk about food for five solid hours of that time.  It’s a talent.

When she left, I immediately started thinking about what I could put into a little care package to send to Angella.  My mind wandered to a bunch of my favorite products, all of which happened to be vegan, so I decided to roll with that trend.  When I put the package together, I was in the middle of a vegan craze which consumed me for a good three months.  I’m not vegan, but at this point my diet consists of about ninety five percent vegan foodstuffs, with a bit of yogurt or cheese thrown in on occasion.The package contained:

  • Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter
  • Local Kale Chips
  • Chili Chocolate
  • Vegan “Parmesan” (Which I recently made at home and is just as good as this overpriced crack-in-a-jar; recipe soon)
  • Homemade Vegan Cheez Its
  • Trader Joe’s chocolate covered cocoa nibs
  • Unpictured peanut flour; it was already bubble wrapped at this point.

FOR THE CRACKERS:

– 1 cup AP flour

– 4 tablespoons Earth Balance or olive oil

– 1 tsp salt

– 1/4 cup nutritional yeast

– Pinch of cayenne pepper (optional)

– 4 to 5 tablespoons cold water

1. Pulse flour, “butter,” salt, and nutritional yeast in food processor until fully incorporated and crumbly.

2. Add enough water to form a dough.

3. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes

4. Roll out thinly and cut into desired shape

5. Sprinkle with a bit of salt

6. Bake at 375 F for 15-20 minutes, until edges begin to turn golden brown

In order to make them more uniform in shape, I rolled the dough in large ziploc bags, froze it for a few minutes, and cut it while very cold to maintain the shape. A good trick to see if your dough is rolled evenly: Hold up the ziplock bag to a bright light and you’ll be able to see which areas are thinner/thicker.

NOM!

2 thoughts on “Vegan Care Package

  1. What an awesome care package! Aw Berkeley Bowl is on the way to Flaco’s. Great, how’d ya make me nostalgic for Berkeley?! Or the food of Berkeley anyway lol.

Leave a Reply

