Vegan Triple Almond Scones

I used to bake all the time, but was more inspired when decorating cupcakes than trying to develop a recipe for a delicious treat.

Exhibit A:

It was fun and all, but who really wants to eat cupcakes that look like a Swanson dinner? No one in my household, that’s who.  Those sat on the counter to be looked at for a good four days, as if they were on display in the Museum of Edible Things That Look Like Other Edible Things That No One Really Wants to Eat (That’s a legit museum, right?).  After a while that got really boring and cooking replaced baking as my hobby of choice.  I’ve fallen back in love with baking, but in a whole new way.  Now, I’m much more concerned with what’s going flavor-wise and am, obviously, getting into vegan baking.

For the base recipe, I adapted these.  I love anything and everything almond flavored or scented, but baked goods with little pillows of almond paste in them are my absolute heaven.  So, I picked up a log of almond paste to supplement the almond extract and sliced almonds waiting in my pantry for a full-on almond-packed bakefest.

VEGAN TRIPLE ALMOND SCONES

For Scones:

  • 1 + 3/4 cups flour (whole wheat or otherwise)
  • 1 tbsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup Earth balance or coconut oil (I usually use half of each)
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (wait, does that make it Quadruple Almond Scones?)
  • 1/3 cup organic sugar
  • 1 tsp. almond extract
  • 6 Tbsp almond paste, cut into small chunks

For Glaze:

  • 1 c. organic powdered sugar
  • 3 T. almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp. almond extract
  • pinch of sea salt

Garnish

  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds

(step zero: preheat oven to 350 F; ignore the awful photos that make it blatantly apparent that I was baking at midnight)

1. Cut butter into small cubes and place in freezer for a few minutes

2. Combine flours, baking powder, and salt in mixing bowl

3. Add butter into flour mixture and mix together with (clean!) fingertips (my favorite mixing tool) until crumbly

4. Combine sugar, almond milk, and 1 tsp. almond extract in a bowl; stir until incorporated

5. Add chunks of almond paste to flour mixture until evenly distributed

6. Add sugar/milk mixture to flour/butter bowl and stir until dough forms

7. Roll dough out to about 1 inch and cut into equally sized triangles (I made two circles, each yielding 6 scones); Place scones on baking sheet

8. Bake for 16-18 minutes, until slightly golden; let cool

9. Mix powdered sugar, 3 T. milk, 1/2 tsp. extract, and pinch of sea salt.

10.  Drizzle glaze over cooled scones and sprinkle with almond slices! (or add slices almonds to the glaze and drizzle all at one to simplify.) If you’re feelin’ it, sprinkle a little more sea salt over the top of the glazed scones.



MMM Almond paste


I can’t post a picture of those cat oven mitts without referencing this:

9 thoughts on “Vegan Triple Almond Scones

  1. These look amazing, and I’m sure they taste amazing too. I love the Museum of Inedibles idea, where those Swansons cupcakes went to die. Please make these to go with my coffee…

Leave a Reply

