Spring rolls + Sauce

You’ll have to excuse the mediocre quality of the photos in the next couple of posts.  My fancycam is at my parent’s house, where it’s been throughout this blogging hiatus. That may have been a factor in my level of blogging motivation, amongst other hurdles (broken computer, lost phone + food photos, working 30 hours a week while taking 18 units, and so on).

I’m happily working fewer hours, meaning I’ve got more time to focus on the things I really love to do.  And I’m happier than I’ve been in a while.  I have time to hang out with my friends, explore the amazing area that I’m so blessed to live in, and watch the TV shows I’ve missed so dearly (also: Top Chef, please come back sooner)

Anyways, I digress.  What I meant to tell you was that the photos for the next few weeks will be courtesy of my beloved iPhone, which is great at so many things, but professional food photography is not amongst its strong suits.  The lack of natural light in my apartment doesn’t help either.  But, hey, I’m glad to be posting again no matter what.

I made these spring rolls as a send off to the warm weather, because I know I won’t be motivated to do so once this Indian Summer deserts the Bay Area and leaves us mired in the fog and drizzle of the colder months.

I filled these with local braised tofu, shredded carrots, shaved brussel sprouts (sauteed with ginger and garlic), and sweet potato. Served up alongside a quick homemade dipping sauce + a mini orange margarita, utilizing the leftover OJ

TO PREPARE ROLLS: 

1. Dip rice paper (one at a time) in warm water for 4-5 seconds, draining excess water

2. Lay rice paper on flat surface, like a cutting board (the paper will still be pretty firm)

3. Wait 10-15 seconds, until rice paper has softened

4. Place fillings inside, fold edges in, and roll tightly.



SPICY ORANGE-SOY DIPPING SAUCE

1 cup freshly squeezed orange juice

1 clove garlic, minced

3 tablespoons soy sauce

1/4-1/2 teaspoon red chili flakes

1. Saute garlic and chili flakes in 1 teaspoon neutral oil for a minute or so over medium heat. Reduce heat

2. Add orange juice and soy sauce to pan, allow to reduce for 10-15 minutes until slightly thickened.

+ mini orange margarita :D

One thought on “Spring rolls + Sauce

Leave a Reply

