Clean Food, Delicious Food

My coworkers have convinced me to go on a two-week long detox/cleanse. This isn’t the type of thing I normally do (because I feel like I eat a pretty clean diet), but after an october full of candy and the like, I decided to go for it to get rid of the toxic sludge that is apparently wreaking havoc on my system.

Nothing makes me feel healthy like forcing down 8 pills at once! (4 fiber, 3 digestive, and 1 liver formula – the first week’s nightly regimen per the TJ’s cleanse)

It’s the Trader Joe’s “Complete Body Cleanse,” which costs $12.99. The food restrictions aren’t intense. We’re essentially avoiding wheat, dairy, soy, sugar, and processed foods (and red meat + pork for those who eat it).

The most difficult part for me? NO CAFFEINE. The day prior to the cleanse, I stayed away from coffee, keeping my ugly addiction at bay with chai and other black teas. The first two days of the cleanse, I stuck with the black tea, lessening my dosage intake each day. I officially haven’t had a cup of coffee in five days. This does not a happy, cheerful Gillian make, and I sure as hell don’t plan on giving it up altogether, but I’m thinking of these two weeks as a test of my willpower.

On to other, more delicious things. Tonight, my dad subjected himself to a dinner cooked within the bounds of this cleanse, and I’m glad he did. Rather than throwing a plate of vegetables together and calling it a meal, I put some effort into making something he’d enjoy as well.

I cooked up a cup of brown rice, roasted butternut squash and brussel sprouts at 400 F for half an hour, and whisked together a quick tahini sauce. Topped with a sprinkling of pomegranate seeds, this was the best homemade meal I’ve had in a while. A bit of bitterness from the brussel sprouts paired with the sweetness of the butternut, the richness and acidity from the tahini and lemon, the nuttiness of the brown rice, and a burst of pomegranate made for absolute perfection in a bowl.

TAHINI SAUCE

whisk together, adding more water as needed:

– 1/4 cup tahini

– Juice from 1/2 lemon

– 3 tablespoons water

– 1 clove garlic, minced

– Salt, to taste

Whole grains, (the greatest) abundant vegetables, healthy fats, and a punch of antioxidants? F*&K YEAH CLEAN EATIN’

One thought on “Clean Food, Delicious Food

Leave a Reply

