Homemade Chai Latte Concentrate

I made three and a half cups of concentrate for less than a dollar and a half.  That’s enough for, like, a week’s worth of chai lattes (edit: I was wrong. Evidently, it is not a week’s worth when the week in question directly precedes finals).  I feel like I’m cheating the system.


I buy my spices from the bulk containers at Whole Foods or Berkeley Bowl, so I can buy just as much as I need without having tubs of spices that I’ll never use (I’m looking at you, 2 ounce container of ground cardamom).  Evidently, plain black tea was only sold in packages of eighty tea bags, so now I’m sort of back at square one with the “foodstuffs I’ll never use up” issue I just told you I averted, but the package was only 3.99 so no harm done.  And, hey, now I have an excuse to make nine more batches of this absolutely delicious elixir.

Cardamom + cloves

Cinnamon + ginger

CHAI LATTE CONCENTRATE

Makes 3.5 cups concentrate (8-10 servings)

7 cups water – fo free
2 sticks cinnamon – 15¢
10 whole cloves – 10¢
10 cardamom pods, crushed – 45¢
1 inch fresh ginger, sliced thinly – 25¢
8 bags black tea – 40¢
Sweetener of choice, to taste* (stevia, sucanat, sugar)

  1. Add all ingredients to large pot, bring to boil
  2. Allow to simmer over medium heat for 20 minutes, until liquid has reduced to half its original volume
  3. Remove tea bags and strain out spices (A french press makes this hassle-free)

*I’d suggest about 1/2 cup sweetener if using sugar, agave, or a comparable ingredient.  As for (pure) stevia, try using about 1/2 teaspoon

To serve, mix 1/2 cup chai concentrate with 3/4 to 1 cup milk of choice (almond milk always wins around these parts); Serve iced or hot 

Warm, spicy, frothy fall-flavored goodness

3 thoughts on “Homemade Chai Latte Concentrate

  1. Kathleen says:

    Oh, Gilly, thank you so much! A favorite treat, just in time for the frosty mornings we’re having here. Love, Kathleen

Leave a Reply

