Skip to content

The best vegan banana muffins

February.15.2012

Let me preface this post by saying that this is not my recipe. I could spends weeks trying to come up with a great recipe that holds together well, doesn’t dry out, and has the perfect crumb texture, but I feel that nothing I can conjure up can top this simple, absolutely perfect one I found on the Huffington Post.

And, hey, don’t knock me for borrowing content, ’cause that’s exactly what the HuffPo does.

At least I’m posting some pretty pictures.

The recipe only calls for chocolate chips, but I think walnuts are a welcome addition in almost anything, sweet or savory, so in they went.

For 16 Muffins (or 12 regular sized + 12 mini)

2 cups white whole wheat flour
1 and a 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup canola oil
4 ripe bananas, mashed
1/4 cup water
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup vegan chocolate chips
3/4 cup chopped walnuts

(edit: this recipe also tastes great with just 1/2 cup sugar.  To healthify it a bit more, try replacing the oil with applesauce)

(preheat oven to 350 F)
1. Mix flour + salt + baking soda in a bowl

2. Combine oil and sugar. Stir. Add mashed banana. Stir. Add water and vanilla. Stir in flour in increments. Finally, add chocolate chips and walnuts.

3. Divide batter into greased or lined muffin tin. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes (15 or so for mini muffins)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February.16.2012 7:34 am

    Just made these tonight. They are completely off the chart. Best muffins EVER!

  2. Jerry Westerby permalink
    February.16.2012 3:04 pm

    I declare under penalty of perjury that these are the best banana muffins ever.

  3. February.17.2012 12:41 pm

    Wow. They look so good. I’ll try these yummies. Thanks !!

  4. Jessica permalink
    May.7.2012 9:03 pm

    Whoa…more like banana CUPCAKES! I’m baking for teacher appreciation week and learned that one of the teachers has an egg allergy…yay for me since we’re vegan! Figured I would show all the teachers how yummy vegan goodies can be…and I can send some to school and save some for us! Made my standby recipe first and while they were baking I came across this recipe. I admit my others are healthier (whole wheat flour, agave, chia, etc) but as for taste, they pale in comparison to these little morsels. I’m going to be good and send most of these to the teachers…but this is my new go-to for a sweeter treat. Thank you!

  5. Nou permalink
    June.21.2012 6:10 pm

    I made these and they are great! I replaced the oil with applesauce and almond milk for the water. There is just one problem…….you will want to eat these all up. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

