While I’ve been known to love the classic Italian basil pesto, I also love a good food experiment. Especially one that turns out as insanely delicious as this one.

I first made this as a pizza topping a few weeks ago, when I was figuring out what to make for an Oscar get-together.  Since then, I’ve made this pesto four times.  And I’ve discovered that it tastes good on just about everything.

Throw it on top of pizza, pasta, vegetables, a salad, or a sandwich to add a burst of fresh, savory flavor.

Roasted tomato-arugula pesto

1 pound cherry, plum, or other smallish tomatoes

4-5 cloves garlic, peeled

2.5 cups fresh arugula

3 tablespoons raw walnuts

3-4 tablespoons olive oil

1.  Preheat oven to 300 F. 

2. Slice tomatoes in half (optional: scoop out seeds – no me gusta)

3. Toss tomatoes with about 1 tablespoon olive oil and a few pinches of salt.  Coat garlic cloves in olive oil as well.  Place tomatoes and garlic on sheet pan and into the preheated oven

4.  After 15 minutes, turn garlic cloves over.  Allow to roast 10 more minutes before removing garlic from pan.  Toss tomatoes in pan and return to the oven to roast for 25 minutes more (for a total of 50 minutes)

5.  Add tomatoes, garlic, walnuts, and arugula to food processor and pulse.  Add enough olive oil to smooth out the mixture.  Salt to taste.

